Skip to content

Crayon Fun

April 29, 2008

I’ve been promising my boys for weeks (okay, probably months!) we were going to do a fun craft with their broken bits of crayons. I have to confess, I’m not naturally the kind of mom who does cool craft projects with her kids. I found instructions on Martha Stewart’s website and we went to work. They boys had lots of fun and we got rid of all those pesky crayon bits.

Aren’t crayons pretty!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    June 4, 2008 10:37 am

    My mom was the art teacher at my elementary school. At the end of the school year, she would collect the kids’ used and broken crayons. We would separate them by color into empty soup cans. She put the cans down into a big pot with water about halfway up the sides and gently melt the crayons as the water heated on the stove. She then poured the hot wax into little candy molds, sometimes layering the colors (let each layer cool before adding the next) or adding glitter. One time, she used brown with orange inside to make “peanut butter cups”. On the last day of school, she gave the “new” crayons, now shaped like candies, Christmas trees, and little animals, back to the kids as a gift.

Trackbacks

  1. Crafty Christmas Boy Style….. « See Mommy Sew

Leave a comment