Skip to content

Finally finished!

May 1, 2008

This latest baby carrier has been a long time in the planning. I don’t remember when I decided to make another SSC (short for Soft Structered Carrier), but I know I bought the buckles for it back in February. But I had other more pressing projects to finish first. I finally got around to making it and finished it yesterday. It turned out just like I hoped (well, minus the imperfect stiching and the very wonky zipper!). I still haven’t given it a real trial-run, but the times I’ve tried it on, it’s been super comfy. I used canvas for the first time and while it was a pain to sew (I used a whole package of jean’s needles, minus one), I think its extra support is part of what makes it comfortable. I used this pattern  with a few adjustments. I added the zippered pocket, changed it to have the straps attach on the back and added the insert/seat. Oh…I also made the sleeping hood larger. The applique was inspired by a quilt on the Soule Mama blog that I’ve loved for a long time. I’m planning on entering it in the same contest at Make Baby Stuff that I entered my mei tai in (you can enter one for each category) so please vote for me, if you like it (of course you do! 🙂

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 9:44 am

    I almost wish I was young enough to want another baby, just ’cause that carrier is so awesome! I bet everyone who sees it will be jealous!

  2. May 9, 2008 8:29 am

    Ohmygosh that is AWESOME!!!!!

  3. August 25, 2009 7:56 pm

    Hello! I came across your blog by searching yahoo for SSC sewing patterns. I LOVE your SSC, but the pattern link in your post is no longer available. I wonder if you have something saved in your computer that you would be willing to email me?? I really want to make my won SSC so bad!!! What I loved about yours is the thought and safety I can see you put into it. The fabric covers over the buckles to protect your baby’s legs; the strap length loops to prevent dangling straps; and the larger hood. If you are willing, would you please share your pattern/tips with me?!?! I really really super duper appreciate it! Thank you, Roxanne, of Wisconsin:)

  4. Christina permalink
    December 4, 2009 2:48 pm

    Hi Kristin…I saw your carrier on Make Baby Stuff and absolutely love your design. I would like to make one like yours but can’t access the pattern from the link you provided and wondered if you would mind sending it to me also. I would REALLY appreciate it! Thank you, Christina

    • December 5, 2009 8:39 am

      I’ll have to look up the new links. I think they revised it! I’m super busy this morning, but I will be happy to get back to you next week (crazy weekend!). If I don’t get back to you, please remind me! I’m kind of forgetful *blush*.

Leave a Reply

