Skip to content

Etsy Feature: Hidden Treasure

November 19, 2008
tags: ,

The feature for today is Hidden Treasure. The first thing I noticed when I clicked on her shop was the color! She also has another shop where she sells cards and other papergoods.

Tell us a bit about who you are & where you are based out of.
I am a stay at home mom with three kids (ages 6, 4, and 1). Before I had all my children, I was an elementary school teacher. One day I may return to that when my kids are all old enough for school. I married my husband Phil in the year 2000. We have been friends since we were children. I live in Fairfax, Virginia. I have lived in this area most of my life. Fairfax is located about 20 miles west of Washington, D.C. so it is a busy, hectic place, but we love it here.
How long have you been crafting?
I wasn’t always into crafting, but my mom was always making something as I was growing up. I made crafts, but I don’t think I really got excited about crafting things until I hit college age, about 14 years ago. The first craft I got excited about was scrapbooking, probably because of my love of photography. I recently opened up a second shop on etsy, paperinspirations. Making jewelry is a more recent hobby, but I am catching on quickly and enjoying every minute of it!
Who or what inspires you?                                                                                                                        

 I usually am inspired by the beads themselves. I look at what I have and start thinking of what I could make out of them. I have a tendency to buy shell beads and things related to the water and ocean. In other words, things that remind me of nature. Blue tends to be my favorite color. Plus, crafting is my way to unwind after a busy day taking care of my kids.


What is one of your favorite things you’ve ever made?
My new favorite thing is my seahorse necklace. I love the colors of the stone and the royal looking seahorse. I love anything that reminds me of the sea.
How did you come up with your shop name?
I wanted to base my store name on a Bible verse, so I tried to think of a name that could also remind people of jewelry. I found a verse in Proverbs 2:4b that says “…search for wisdom as if it were money and hunt for it as if it were hidden treasure”. Sometimes people think of jewelry as a sort of treasure. We should also seek wisdom and treasure wisdom too.
What is one funny/interesting thing you can tell us about yourself?
Once I start something, I like to finish it no matter what! I’m determined. For example, during the summer, our power went out during a storm at night. I was in the middle of making a necklace. I lit candles all over the kitchen table and worked by candlelight until the necklace was done. My husband was very amused.

What is one of your favorite items in your shop?
I love my dragonfly pendant necklace. If no one buys it before Christmas, I will most likely keep it or give it to my mom.

Anything else to say?
I have been making lots of items because I am motivated by my first craft show coming up in a couple weeks. Check my store often since I am going to be busy listing many new creations!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 6:20 pm

    Thank you for featuring my shop! You have a lovely blog.

Leave a comment