Skip to content

Did you miss me?

September 8, 2010

 Freshcut Baby Quilt

Well that is one way to take a blog break….just disappear for months on end!

We’ve had a wonderful summer, full of camping, trips to the river, s’mores, bike riding, and a week away with my husband (yes, a whole week!). I think I’m finally okay with it being fall. Actually, fall is my favorite time of year, but summer didn’t seem long enough this time. Maybe it was the wet and cold summer we had? Anyway, I thought about my poor blog a lot, but that was as far as it got. I have to admit, I don’t really like to write. It feels too much like work! I have kind of a love/hate relationship with this space. I like having it, getting to share things I’ve made and see the things you’ve made…but I hate the guilt and the feeling “I should be posting more”. I’ve thought a lot about what I want to do with this blog, now that I’m attempting (slowly!), to close up my Etsy shop (still some skirts there). Everything from quitting this blog entirely, to changing it to a family blog, to just trying to remember that it’s my blog and I can post whenever I please, so stop stressing and let it be! I know I’ve read multiple posts from other bloggers expressing similar thoughts, so I know I’m not alone in these feelings.

Freshcut Baby Quilt
So how about a little sewing? I did sew a little this summer. Mostly quilt blocks for the bee I’m in. But I did manage to make this quilt for a new baby girl, sister to her five older brothers! She was quite a surprise.
Freshcut Baby Quilt

I used Heather Bailey’s Freshcut with Essex Linen/Cotton Blend in Natural for the sashing. I forgot to take a photo of the back, but it was just three squares like the front, with more of the Essex. I was in a rush to finish it (nothing like procrastination), so I quilted it with free-motion loops. I really like them, but I would have done them closer together if I had more time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

