Skip to content

Spring Top #2

April 28, 2010

I finally got around to sewing up this incredibly popular pattern. I actually haven’t owned it for all that long….is that an excuse? Overall, I really like it. I was originally going to make the longer sleeve version….basically the dress shortened into a shirt. I didn’t have quite enough fabric, though. So the sleeves weren’t quite as long as the pattern called for and I didn’t like the way it looked. Out came the scissors…..I chopped them off and added pleats and a button (to get rid of the wing-like thing that was going on!). Much better and I’m really happy with the results. I “think” I can wear this without wondering if people are laughing at me! Oh man….me and my sewing insecurities. Can anyone relate? Please tell me I’m not the only one who feels like everyone is thinking, “Did she make that? And she thinks it looks good?!” The fabric I used was from a lady at our church…..she was cleaning her fabric stash out. I’m feeling pretty good about adding to my already too-big stash, because I’ve already sewn up two of the five or so pieces I took. Not too shabby!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 2:17 pm

    I totally relate! HA ha! I feel that way sometimes when I sew for myself. Your shirt looks great though, nothing to worry about there! I have Wendy’s books, but haven’t tried any of her patterns yet. It’s on my to-do list!

  2. April 28, 2010 3:10 pm

    Oh my goodness that is so cute! I love it!

  3. April 28, 2010 7:42 pm

    It turned out adorable- I love the pleats 🙂

  4. April 29, 2010 2:59 am

    It turned out well!

    I have a weekly blog party especially for people to share the things they’ve made to be worn. Stop by if you’d like!

  5. April 29, 2010 5:55 am

    So, so, cute!

  6. May 17, 2010 4:52 am

    Love this shirt! It turned out great!

  7. Samantha S permalink
    May 17, 2010 10:11 pm

    Super cute! I never get around to sewing for myself because it seems one of the little ones in my life always needs something… but if I’d finished that for myself I’d be pretty dern pleased indeed!

Leave a Reply

