Skip to content

Simplicty 3775 and BurdaStyle Marie…

February 27, 2010

 womens,dress,simplicity 3775

I’ve had this fabric since Sew Expo of last year and I finally sewed it up. I was planning on using a different pattern, but the great reviews on this convinced me. It was super easy, even with my limited knits sewing experience. The only thing I changed was I overlapped the bodice a bit more than the pattern indicated. Sorry for the headless shot…I had a very stupid expression.

womens,skirt,burda,marie
The skirt is the Marie free pattern on BurdaStyle. I didn’t realize that the hem was faced, so I cut it a bit longer. I also didn’t taper the bottom in quite as much….I was afraid that with three little boys it might be hard to walk in. If I made it again, I would probably just make without those alterations. I need to re-do the bottom hem. I interfaced the facing (I think the instructions said to) and I think it was a mistake. I’m going to re-cut the facing on the bias and skip the interfacing. Hopefully that will take care of the funky hem! I did cut the waistband longer than the pattern said too…it was too short when I cut it per their instructions. I still haven’t decided whether I like the pleats on the back….I think when the hem is fixed I’ll be able to tell better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lisa Hightower permalink
    February 27, 2010 1:42 pm

    I’m just getting back into sewing, and I love your dress! The fabric is a great choice, and I love the all-over pattern. I’m dreaming of making a dress right now (still fabric-less), and I can’t decide how I want the fabric to look, but you’re swaying me to the small-print side!

    That skirt is really awesome as well. I like the color and the top you paired it with. I could totally see it going to work. (I sew mostly work clothes).

Leave a Reply

