Skip to content

Crunchy Granola Momma….

February 25, 2010

Photobucket
We are not die-hard healthy eaters at all. We have chips in the garage pantry and my Dh likes to buy cereals that contain the words “puffs” and “charms”. But I do try to do some things right, which includes serving whole grains (so says the mom who served white rice last night and white flour biscuits tonight). I’ve mentioned before that I have been trying to soak them first. I’ve got regular bread down pretty good. I still have an occasional dud, but I did before I started soaking too. But that is about as far as I have gotten. Okay….I take that back….I do soak our oatmeal, but that is about as easy as you can possibly get! Anyway, next on my long list to tackle is soaked granola. I tried this recipe first. I did try another recipe before, but it was a total failure, so I’m not going to bother trying to find it again. I love her bread recipe, so I had high hopes for her granola recipe. I was pretty pleased with the results. I think I want to try the dehydrator though. By the time it was crispy enough for me, it was super dark, almost burned.

I’m going to try a couple other recipes too, just to compare. There is one here, here, and here. I’ll let you know how they turn out. My sister’s MIL also gave me some of her granola, which was not soaked, but was sweetened with pineapple juice and dates. My boys didn’t love it, but I thought it was quite yummy. So maybe I’ll try to get that recipe also.

photo via microsoft clip art….because it’s too dark and my granola isn’t that pretty!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 9:50 pm

    Boy – I was just going to tell you not to mess with perfection because that is one gorgeous bowl of granola!

    When you soak my granola it won’t be light and crunchy like that. I do it in the dehydrator now and we get “breakfast cookies” instead. I also have been adding almond meal from Bob’s to up the protein for my little non-eater. So just be warned, I haven’t yet gotten traditional granola from soaked oats. Good luck!

  2. February 27, 2010 5:44 pm

    Thanks for the links! I tried making granola for the first time a couple of weeks ago, but would like to try the soaking method next.

  3. Jennifer permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:14 pm

    I don’t understand what you mean by “soaking” method.. I make granola once a week now. If you send me you e-mail address, Ill send you a copy of how I do it.

Leave a Reply

