Skip to content

Woven Hearts…

February 11, 2010

I started a post the other day, but right in the middle of it I got a virus warning. I had Photobucket open at the time, along with a bunch of other windows (drives my DH crazy..I always have way too many tabs open at once!). Anyway, I don’t know for sure that it came from the Photobucket site, but didn’t want to take the risk. So for now I’m just using Flickr…don’t have a pro account, though, so I’ll be switching them to something else when I get the chance.

IMG_7238

I know there are MANY instructions for these online, but I thought I might as well do a little tutorial on them since I was making them anyway. I needed to plan an easy craft for the Awana girl’s group I work with and these seemed to fit the bill. The girls range in age from 3rd to 6th grade. Some of them had a hard time understanding how to make them, but they seemed to like the results. We filled ours with conversation hearts. I made these when I was a little girl with a kit my mom got from here. It’s been a long time, though, so I used this site as a refresher.

You can use scrapbook paper, cardstock, or even felt. With three boys, this was a perfect chance for me to use some of my girly paper up!
Cut 2 strips of paper. I cut mine 6″ x 12″, but any size is fine, as long as it is about twice as long as it is wide. Also cut a strip about 2″ x 6″ for the handle.

Fold the paper in half so that the 6″ sides meet. Place the two papers on top of each other at right angles to each other. Draw a line along the top edge of the paper (make sure it is near the cut edge, not the folded edge). We’ll call this the cutting line. Now draw three lines parallel to the long edge of the paper, starting at the folded edge, each an equal distance apart. Hmm….I’m not surprised I confused the girls! Hopefully the photo makes more sense than I do!
IMG_7233

Take a bowl (I suppose a compass would work, if you want to be fancy) and trace a circle at the cut edges (not the folded edge!).
IMG_7232

Now simply cut along the curved top edge. Also, cut along the parallel lines you drew, making sure you cut up to but not past the cutting line. Umm….I already cut mine up above!
IMG_7241

Take your two papers and hold them at right angles to each other, with the folded edges meeting. Take the top strip of each paper. Normally when you weave you go over and under, but with these you are going through and around. Take the top strip of one and put it through the top strip of the other. Then switch…..the strip that went through is now going around and visa versa. Repeat until one strip is completely completed.
IMG_7243
IMG_7244

Then move onto the next. It gets a little trickier as you finish up, but just don’t be afraid to bend the paper a bit and you’ll manage it.
IMG_7235

I didn’t show in the photos, but you can add a handle but stapling or gluing the 2″ strip to each side of the basket. Fill with candy or other treats and give to your sweetheart.
IMG_7246

6 Comments leave one →
  1. amy+2 permalink
    February 11, 2010 8:06 am

    awww…..i remember making those. the one and only time in my life that i made valentines for people…. 🙂 and i don’t think your instructions are confusing – but the pictures definitely help…

    • February 11, 2010 8:07 am

      funny….I almost didn’t realize it was you. 🙂 Was that the same time we made the angels?

  2. February 11, 2010 10:04 am

    We did these last year, they are a lot of fun. Yours look nice =)

  3. dixiemango permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:52 am

    Very cute idea! Never seen it before.

  4. February 12, 2010 7:46 am

    I loved doing that as a kid.

  5. sustainableeats permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:24 pm

    We used to make these in Sweden to decorate the Christmas tree. You hang them up empty and the elves fill them with candy. Swedes are big on hearts at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

