Skip to content

Too Many Choices

January 8, 2010

Fabrics for my next quilt

I was thinking quilts, but evidently that applies to blog themes too. And crazy me decided, why not just pick a new one with no making sure it wouldn’t totally mess everything up. As in, watch my entire blog roll and side bar disapear. Pretty good trick! I guess it was all a bit stale anyway. Nothing like having it all go “poof” to give you a fresh start. Oh…but I just realized I did have my old blog open still, so I was at least able to get some screen shots. That should help a bit. Who knows if I will keep this new theme and I will definitely put up a different header. Sometimes I wish I was blessed with some nice graphic design genes!

My original post was going to be more along the lines of, hey, I’m back from my long and much needed blog break. And about how very lazy I’ve been feeling…and being. I have finally been feeling more inspired the last few days and am excited to start work on a new quilt, once I get a few projects with a deadline done. I’m working on one that I can’t share yet…nothing too exciting, like an amazing book deal, or being published, or any of that cool stuff. It’s just a gift, and although I don’t believe the recipient reads my blog, I would hate to blow the surprise. I already did that at Christmas. I was quite sure my DH never read my blog, but sure enough he did and the fudge surprise was ruined. It still tastes good, though!

I have had plans for the last few years to make a quilt for our king size bed. But fear, too much to do, and my little 3/4 size machine (please tell me I can still do this!) have been holding me back. But I think I am ready to go for it. I have a wee little stash of Katie Jump Rope fabrics I’m planning on using. I haven’t decided if I should use all of them, or if I should incorporate any other fabrics (besides sashing, etc). I feel very incapable of choosing fabrics….I get so jealous of the beautiful combos I see on Flickr and Etsy, but I don’t feel able to do the same. I can’t decide if I should include the yellow or not. I’m leaning towards yes.

I put together this gallery with some beautiful quilts…I’m thinking I will go with something similar to one of these (in pattern, not in fabrics), unless I come up with something I like better. Any favorites? I want to love this quilt for a long time so I’m having a little commitement problem! I feel like an ignorant Flickr user…I wanted to put together a mosaic of these quilts that I could post here, but I can’t figure out how…can anyone help! And now I think I’ve asked for help about 5 times now….so I better go before I scare you all (all 3 of you 😉 away.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 3:44 pm

    I just stopped by to check out your blog and I am so glad I did! You are so creative, and I absolutely ♥ your blog!

  2. January 8, 2010 6:27 pm

    I love the yellow, but I don’t know much about quilts…

  3. January 8, 2010 9:04 pm

    looks like i’m the 3rd comment and you haven’t scared me away! ha ha

    wow, a king size quilt… that is some work. I’m not that brave or confident yet.

    I think the yellow really brightens up the color scheme but my favorite color combo is blue and brown.

    and sorry, i know absolutely NOTHING about Flickr

  4. February 3, 2010 9:44 pm

    My vote is on the “Sunny Squares Quilt” by filminthefridge or “Freshly Washed + On The Bed”
    by philistine made. I think I like the simple beauty to them.

  5. February 8, 2010 8:39 pm

    You are brave. I have wanted to tackle a twin quilt for my daughter, but haven’t brought myself to do it yet.

Leave a Reply

