Skip to content

Pumpkin Muffins

December 16, 2009

blog

In case you aren’t sugared out, these are really good. You could make them into pumpkin bread, but unless I get a good head start, my kiddos (and I) do not enjoy the hour long wait. Besides, I can never get quick bread to bake all through without burning the edges! This recipe comes from a camp cookbook…they aren’t super healthy, but they are yummy…and they do have flax seed in, so that counts for something, right?!

1 1/4 c sugar
1/4 c honey (I used Agave syrup, because my honey was crystalized and I didn’t feel like taking the time to un-crystalize it!)
1 c canola oil
4 eggs
2 1/3c flour
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
15 oz pumpkin
1/2 c flaxseed, ground

Beat the sugar, oil, and eggs. Gently stir in remaining ingredients. I added a tsp. or so of vanilla too. It makes a generous 2 dozen muffins. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. If you want before baking, top with a large chocolate chip. Or go for it and just stir a bunch into the batter. This time, I showed some restraint. As you see in the picture, Happy Boy did not…he was the chocolate chip thief.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 8:58 pm

    Hey – I’ve made these! I’ve heard this camp cookbook is awesome! 🙂 In fact – if anyone is interested in getting one – they should check out http://www.campgilead.org
    Yum – thanks for the inspiration to make these Kristin!
    Kimberly

Leave a Reply

