Skip to content

Dare to Design…

November 3, 2009

Photobucket
Nothing like coming right down to the wire. The momene I heard about the Dress design for Shabby Apple dresses contest, I really wanted to make at least one dress for it. I loved Shabby Apple the moment I saw them and I love sketching out dresses and ideas. I’ve been working on this dress in moments here and there for weeks. But there is something about having a lot of time that makes me procrastinate. You might recognize this dress. It started out as the dress I made for the SWAP. I really wasn’t happy with how it fit, but I certainly didn’t want to waste the fabric!

dress

I think the finished dress looks like something a modern-day character from a Jane Austin novel would wear. It is super feminine. I think it would be cute in a solid, maybe a light grey or a green. I actually think it would be a better balance between the feminine style and a more simple fabric. But I wanted to use what I had and this double guaze from Heather Ross is lovely.

Photobucket

The bodice is pleated and adorned with a sweet ruffle around the neckline. The back has a center gathered panel which not only is pretty, but also makes it fit nicely. The knee length skirt is pleated and the sleeves are gathered with elastic, for a comfortable fit.

Photobucket

I had dreams of doing a lovely photo-shoot. But a combination of my poor photography skills, lots of fall leaves, and a dying camera battery leave lots to be desired. Not to mention I was having  a much better hair day yesterday! I hope I can get some better shots that will do justice to this dress.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Krista permalink
    November 10, 2009 7:27 pm

    I think it’s just lovely. You did a fabulous job. I agree it’s very feminie but not costumey at all. Love it.

Leave a Reply

