Skip to content

SWAP sewing, part three….

July 22, 2009

Burda Jeans
My most challenging item first….jeans. I must admit, when I first read about people making jeans, I thought they were nuts. And I figured that they would look so homemade! Then I started seeing pictures. I was so impressed, I decided to give it a try. I chose Burda 7738, mostly because I could get it locally for not too much money. It’s a great pattern and I would recommend it. It does have very flared legs! I took them in quite a bit and as you can they still flare quite a lot. You can read my full review here. I got the denim at Joanns.

Jalie Top with Otttobre 2/08 Capris
I also made black capris from the Wide Leg Pants pattern in Ottobre 2/08. Again, I took the legs in a bit. I made size 38, but forgot to add the seam allowance. I sewed it with a 1/4″ S/A and they fit well. I tried to sew another pair in the same size, but they were way too tight. So I guess the stretch in the black twill made a big difference!  I reviewed this pattern also.

Denim Skirt
The skirt was based off of this pattern, but I ended up changing it quite a bit to fit with the fabric I chose (another denim from Joanns). I didn’t buy enough fabric and had to squeeze this out of it. I love this skirt, but I need to go back and fix the zipper. I only did 1/4″ S/A so it would fit, but the ended up not catching them properly when I sewed the zip it. It also doesn’t lie nicely where the pockets meet on the sides, so I’m hoping I can fix that. Other than that, it’s super cute.

Otto Women 2/2008, Jalie 2806
The last item is the Gathered Skirt from Otto 2/08. I love this skirt. I feel a little funny, wearing it, like it looks a little costume-y? I wish I didn’t, because I really do think it’s cute. This is one of the few trouble free items I made, not suprisingly. I used my own skirt pattern, I just used the instructions for the gathered sides.

I must admit, I was pretty dispointed in many of my SWAP items. I haven’t really worn most of them! I hate to even admit that. I guess I should be easier on myself, since many of these items firsts for me. New patterns, new techniques….I’d only made one knit shirt for me before this and I’d never made pants or jeans for me ever. First dress too. And I learned a ton! So all and all, I’m glad I did it. And really, most of the items will be great with a tweak or two.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. knitsnwovens permalink
    July 22, 2009 1:18 pm

    Actually, I found the same thing when I’ve done these contests – I think for me it’s because the time limit means I just go for “done” instead of “works”. If I didn’t have the time limit, I’d keep fiddling with it. Of course, that’s why I joined the contests to start with – so I’d actually finish things :P.

    Now, to dig up the black skirt where the pockets gape, and the pants that are a hair too short…

  2. July 25, 2009 6:42 pm

    I love the capri pants. I need to make some before summer is over here.

  3. July 26, 2009 7:12 am

    HI! I saw your comment on Mckmama! I wanted to share my website with you: Sugarandspice1.etsy.com
    I will be donating a portion of all sales to the String of pearls to help families and babies like Stellan! I am trying to get it out there in any way I can! Please let your family, friends etc. I would really appreciate it!
    Thanks!! 🙂
    -lexi
    Sugarandspice4baby.blogspot.com

  4. July 29, 2009 6:35 am

    I’m loving all your swap items. I think they suit you well – cute, but not too cute.

  5. countrygirlcouture permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:06 pm

    I LOVE the skirt with the ties on it! I don’t think it looks costume-y at all, and I am going to have to see if I can find that issue so that I can make the skirt too….unless you’d be interested in posting the steps for me…;-)

  6. September 23, 2009 6:49 pm

    I saw that you commented at the Cultures for Health starter giveaway at Passionate Homemaking. I’m hosting the same one, just through tomorrow night (9/24). You can enter here: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2009/09/16/giveaway-cultures-for-health-starter-cultures/
    Good luck!
    Katie @ Kitchen Stewardship

  7. October 27, 2009 5:53 am

    You are being too hard on yourself. From here it looks like you are doing a tremendous job.

    oxo

Leave a Reply

