Skip to content

More SWAP sewing…

July 20, 2009

….only a month later! Am I the only one who hasn’t been much into blogging lately? I’ve sat down to do it many times, but never seem to feel motivated enough to actually do it!
My first post about the SWAP is here. Along with the knit tops, I had to make two woven tops, a jacket/cardigan/sweatshirt, and a dress.

Freshcut with Layered Skirt
I used Simplicity 3750 for the first top. I like the idea of this pattern, but I had to make too many tweaks to recommend it. It was too wide…I think it looked frumpy. And it was too low for my taste. I do want to try it again, just using my measurements instead of going by the pattern. I made the tunic length, but I’m planning on chopping it off a bit. Review here.

Ottobre Women 2/2008- Puffed Sleeve Blouse
I also made the Puffed Sleeve Blouse from Ottobre Women 2/2008. I think I am realizing I like gathers, but not puffed sleeves. I’m very pleased with how it turned out, though. I even ommited the shirring and added darts instead. I’ve never self-drafted darts before and they turned out great. I’m planning on listing this in my Etsy shop. The button holes are less than steller, so it will be for a great price!

Far, Far Away Dress
I self drafted this dress, using a ready to wear dress and the Shari dress pattern as guides. I used my precious Far, Far Away Fabric by Heather Ross. I love the back of this dress! The gathers make it fit so nicely. I’m not pleased with the front, though! It needs to be ripped apart and put back together, something I haven’t felt motivate to do yet! It was my first dress ever for me, though, so I can’t complain! I’ve come a long ways, even though there is so much I want to learn.

Ottobre Women 2/2008- Knit Cardigan
This was also from Ottobre Women 2/08. I had a terrible time with this pattern. I love the style! But I think I should have picked a different knit, as I struggled with everything but the construction of the body. The worst part was trying to line the button placket with woven. I love the idea, but I get it to hang properly.

Ok…one more post and that will wrap it up! Pants and skirts still to come!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 7:42 pm

    WOW – you have been busy! Love the Ottobre shirt. Can’t wait to see your pants post.

  2. knitsnwovens permalink
    July 22, 2009 1:14 pm

    All so PRETTY!

    I agree that attaching wovens to knits is a really tricky business – I know *why* they try to do it, but it just keeps fighting the very nature of knit. Bah, generally I give up and just stabilize each buttonhole separately and let the rest do what it wants to.

  3. July 30, 2009 5:33 pm

    Ohmyyyy! Your sewing is AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

