Skip to content

Schedule: Day 22

April 22, 2009

Well, so much for my intention to post almost every day! I have to admit, I’ve not been getting up at 3:30 every morning! And the mornings I do, I’m pretty lazy about doing things I need to do. I have got some sewing done, though. By far, the thing that I’ve had the hardest thing thing with is exercise. It seems like I can always come up with a good excuse not to do it. But I guess one thing at a time. I’ll be happy just to get my house cleaner and get things more orderly here…then I’ll deal with the exercise! I still need to tackle a chore list for the kiddos (and me too). Right now it’s just kind of haphazard, assigning chores day-to-day. A little more structure would be good.

Otto Woman, 2/2008, Puffed Sleeve Top
See, I said I’d been sewing. I made this top from Otto Woman 2/2008. I really like it and will be making it again. I did make several mistakes. The first was choosing a fabric that wasn’t as stretchy as the pattern called for. I didn’t want to use good fabric for a trial run, so I used this knit that I had picked up at Walmart. It doesn’t stretch much, so the arms are a bit tight and the bottom band wasn’t stretchy enough to fit the bottom of the shirt. I ended up gathering the bottom of the shirt a bit to fit the band. My main problem was getting the gathers to stay put. Do people typically baste knit gathers? My slid around a lot and I ended up having so many when I came to the end up the yoke seam that one side of the shirt is much more gathered than the other! Oh well…..it’s still wearable, which is more than I can say about some previous shirt atempts. Please excuse the untrimmed serging that is hanging out from the sleeve. Did I say serging?….um, yeah…did I forget to mention that I bought a serger? I think I did! I bought this and I LOVE it. So easy to thread and use. I have nothing to compare it to, but I’m sure enjoying using it. I just need to get more thread….right now I only have white.

Cargo Pants, Otto 4/04
Cargo Pants, Otto 4/04
I also atempted a real pants waistband. I think I did it wrong because the waistband ended up being too short. I had a terrible time understanding the fly directions and never did come up with a tutorial that made sense to me. I don’t do too well with written directions, I think. I used Ottobre 4/04, number 15 (cargo pants) for these. I’m so used to making elastic waist pants that I forgot to check the waist measurement first and they ended up way too big. So I ended up having to add elastic to the back. And no, the pockets don’t just look crooked because of the elastic. They really are crooked! I didn’t do those right either. But they are real pants. J said they are like store pants, because I was able to use my new snap pliars and put a snap to close the waist (Love those!). All this complaing, but really, I’m pretty happy with them. I think I will making another pair if I can get the waistband and fly ironed out. With less pockets though! I love the look, but it takes way too much time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2009 3:08 pm

    Thank you so showing this shirt. i am expecting and this is also my first pregnancy during the summer and this top with baggy waist is perfect for a growing belly.
    I am going to be buying my second ottobre because of you.

    Thank you!!!!

  2. dixiemango permalink
    April 22, 2009 4:18 pm

    I love the top. I think it is so cute. I would totally wear it!

  3. April 22, 2009 5:27 pm

    The shirt and pants both look nice! I really need to subscribe to Ottobre.

  4. April 25, 2009 9:45 am

    3:30?!?! I woudn’t be able to get up either! I just came over from Sew Much Ado to check out your maternity skirt tutorial. I would love to link to it if you don’t mind. Now, to explore the rest of your blog.

  5. April 25, 2009 11:00 pm

    Honey, can I just say that if that’s how you look WITHOUT exercize, then let’s just say you know how to pick your genes!

    Great shirt – it looks pretty AND comfortable.

  6. April 29, 2009 1:11 pm

    the shirt look sgreat–and your schedule looks grueling. What does my mom say? “When your kids are bigger, your house will be cleaner.”

  7. May 7, 2009 7:03 am

    That’s a great top! And such pretty fabric! I love how forgiving of mistakes patterns can be sometimes. Things that initially seem enormous turn out, in the end, to be “just our little secret.” Well done.

    Kristina
    Sweetfern Handmade

  8. June 1, 2009 5:27 pm

    Late to this topic, but I love your shirt! I need to use my serger more. That’s a summer goal for me!

Leave a Reply

