Skip to content

The Great Scheduling Experiment: Day 1

April 2, 2009

Photobucket

I tried to post this yesterday, but my card reader wouldn’t work!
Well, technically, this is day two! Today, I’ll start by telling you what my schedule looks like. Mine is a bit different than most, because my husband gets up very early to go to work. I’m using a copy of Managers of Their Homes, borrowed from my mom. This book has been highly reccomended to me by several ladies. I like that the way you do the schedule, it’s very easy to change it around. Instead of writing things in, they are attatched with sticky tack, so they can be rearranged easily. She also has lots of sample schedules in the back, which I found very helpful.

I’ve been very hesitant to do a schedule. We have certain routines, of course, like nap times, but one of things I like about staying at home is my freedom to plan my day. I was afraid if I had a written schedule in place, it would feel too regimented. But a combination of feeling like I’m always behind with housework, a long to-do list and too much computer time have made me decide that now would be a good time to give it a shot. Managers of Their Homes (some people call it MOTH, which is much shorter to type!) also has you schedule your kids day. So far, my kids have loved that idea. They enjoy seeing the little colored squares under their name. Of course, some are looked forward to with a little more excitement!

Anyway, here is my schedule, for now. I already see things I will change, but I’m not sure how I’ll tweak it yet. We’ll see how different it is by the end of the month!

3:30AM-Get up, Make DH’s lunch
4- Read the Bible, Pray
4:30-Exercise
5-Shower
5:30-Computer Time
6:30- Make Breakfast
7- Help kid’s get dressed
7:30- Breakfast
8:00- Breakfast Cleanup
8:30-Chores
9-School
10-Time with Happy Boy
10:30- Make Lunch
11- Lunch
11:30- Lunch Cleanup
12-Time with JJ
12:30- Story and put little ones to nap
1- Mama Time
1:30- Time with J
2- Dinner Prep
2:30- Sewing/Scrapbooking
3:30- Pick up/Finish Dinner
4- Dinner
4:30- Dinner Cleanup
5- Baths
5:30- Family Bible Time
6- Story, Bedtime stuff
6:30- Kiddos to bed
8- Bedtime

Anyone want to join me? Or have any tips you want to share? If you do, please comment or email me (same name, it’s a Gmail account) and I’ll share them in a future post. Hopefully we can help each other become more organized and less stressed! Oh…and in case you’re wondering, this isn’t my computer time (oops!), but we’re actually running ahead this morning. That and my kids are taking FOREVER to clean their room. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 7:36 am

    Wow. Very impressive. I don’t think I could ever get up at 3:30 in the morning.

  2. April 2, 2009 11:34 am

    I could never get up at 3:30, but then again I go to sleep a full 2 hours later than you do. How old are your kids that they go to sleep so early, yet still have a nap?

  3. April 4, 2009 10:39 pm

    I’m so impressed!

  4. Gretchen permalink
    April 5, 2009 9:24 am

    I also use this book and I have the Managers of their Chores as well. It has helped me TREMENDOUSLY. I can’t believe you get up at 3:30. Could you fix your husband’s lunch right after dinner the night before so you could sleep a little longer? I always put leftovers from dinner immediately into containers for my husband’s lunch for the next day. Unless your husband doesn’t have access to a microwave or hates leftovers (like my father).

    On Wednesday I am posting information on my child’s chore list and chart. It is a lifesaver. It looks like you have your routine down pretty well, I just still cannot get over how early you get up.

    Oh also, I made a cleaning schedule in addition to my regular schedule so everyday I do a different room(s) of the house and I also listed what my children clean in that room along with me (well only one child is old enough) to clean. This has also helped a lot!

  5. April 12, 2009 5:35 am

    I also get up to get my husband out the door for work. I do not have to get up quite so early though.

    I need to get back into the routine of working out in the morning. I have become slack because I have been sleeping in more. I am going to start again tomorrow. 🙂

    I would also love to get a cleaning routine down. We seem to never be home the same days a week.

    P.S. I really enjoy your blog.

Leave a Reply

