Skip to content

Buttercup…

March 20, 2009

 Buttercup Bag

Buttercup Bag

I knew as soon as I saw this pattern that I must make it! The only difficulty was choosing the fabric. I ended up using “potting soil” linen/rayon blend from Joanns with Heather Ross’s Mendecino as trim and lining. I love it! This is a great pattern for beginners. I did interface the whole outer bag and I’m glad I did. I feel like it adds much needed stability. I also did the pleats wrong (oops!), but really, you can do them however you want. I know I’ll be making this again. I wanted to add the cute little button thing, but mine turned out so crooked and ugly. I think next time I’m going to take the time to trace the stitching line onto the fabric. I’m hoping that will help.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 2:22 pm

    Love your fabric choice. I, also, still have this pattern on my list of things to make. Maybe, next months 😉 If I can decide on the fabric that is!

  2. dixiemango permalink
    March 21, 2009 6:02 am

    Looks great!

  3. March 21, 2009 6:35 am

    I love the seahorse fabric! Makes for a very sweet bag 🙂

  4. March 21, 2009 7:21 pm

    I think it looks great! I see nothing wrong with it! I think I may try it for my next purse..

  5. March 21, 2009 7:25 pm

    Those are probably the best fabric combinations I have ever seen. Love the brown shade!!

  6. March 21, 2009 7:32 pm

    Sigh. Isn’t Rae amazing? Love your bag!

  7. March 22, 2009 7:04 pm

    What a pretty fabric and color combination!

  8. March 30, 2009 6:25 pm

    Beautiful bag! and great fabric choices!

    I have a pattern to email to you – one that you commented on my blog, just email me: devida@hotmail.co.uk and I will send it to you!

    Dee
    x

Leave a Reply

