Skip to content

More Catching up….

March 13, 2009

More of my February sewing. I sewed a few things for me this month, some with more success than others.

 
Self-drafted Dress
My sister’s MIL sent me a Mini-Boden catalogue. I’ve heard many of the ladies on SewingMamas rave about them, but had only seen their (very small) online pics. There are some adorable clothes in there. I based the dress I made off of this dress. There are more detailed photos in the catalogue. I’m not sure I will wear it by itself…the bodice is not very flattering. With a cardigan, maybe, though. Still, I was pretty proud of myself for a first dress.

Simplicity 4589
I bought Simplicity 4589 based on a review on another blog…I believe it was Tiny Happy? Anyway, I was really happy with how it turned out. I did take it in under the arms a bit, as the sleeves were too poofy and it was a bit wide. I also added some length. Next time, I’m going to add an inch or so at the bottom…it’s a little snug around my hips. I might try the sleeveless version next.

Lounge Pants 
Lounge Pants
I also made some lounge pants. As usual, they’re a little too low in the back and a little too high in the front! I know it should be obvious, but I can’t quite figure out how to fix that for next time (if you know, please tell me!). I do love this fabric with the crocheted trim. It looks so pretty and vintage to me. And they are wearable, at least.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 7:04 pm

    I have a solution for altering the pants to fit better. You can alter only the front or the back. If you take the pattern piece for the back of the pants and draw a line halfway between waist and crotch. Then cut on the line leaving the outer side (away from the U) attached. Then when you pin the pattern piece to the fabric you adjust the cut line to give you more fabric in the middle. There are some really handy pictures here: http://www.sandrabetzina.com/archive_full_column.php?id_columns=45

    Good Luck!

  2. March 19, 2009 9:12 pm

    I really like the lounge pants fabric! Perfect for Spring! The blouse is also really nice. Boden is probably a bit on the expensive side, right? I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

