Skip to content

Do I really have that much fabric!?

March 4, 2009
tags: ,

Scrap Quilt
Why, yes I do! Enough for 204 scraps for this quilt, with some to spare. Granted, some of these were cut from pieces barely big enough to cut a 2 and half inch square from. But still! I have a really hard time stretching myself color wise, so for this quilt I just threw the squares into a paper bag and sewed whatever came out together. I think I only broke that rule twice (two different blue polka dots right next to each other….I just couldn’t do it!). I think it looks pretty cool and it will look even better when i rip off the binding and handsew it back on. I was hurrying to finish it in time for stash game, so I was forced to sew it on by machine. I snipped the last thread at midnight, so there’s no way I could have done that by hand!

Baby Quilt
I also finished the quilt for my new nephew. I haven’t been able to give it to them yet so sorry, Sarah, if you read my blog! Don’t look if you want to be surprised! I used a curtain from Target for the back. They have a jungle animal theme in their older boy’s room, so assuming they will be sharing a room I thought it was appropriate. Now that I think about, I didn’t take a pic of the back!  Silly me! Well, you can barely see it at the top of the stack in the picture in this post. I used fabrics from Heather Ross and Amy Butler, along with Kona Cotton solids.

Scalloped Blanket
I also made the scalloped blanket from “Bend the Rules Sewing“. It is definitely not perfect, but not quite as wonky as it looks in the picture. I used a Tina Given’s print from her Zazu line, which I believe is discontinued.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 3:41 pm

    wow, love all that fabric! esp. the scalloped blanket, SO cute! you asked how I did the waist band on my skirt. well, the pattern had me cut a piece of grosgrain ribbon to just over my waist measurement and then stitch it around the waist band. after that you turn it in so it’s facing the inside laying against your skin and tack it at the seams so it’ll lay down. I’m not the biggest fan of this method now having worn it a few times since it rubs and can be uncomfortable unless you have something between your skin and the skirt. but now I’ll know for next time right! 🙂

  2. March 5, 2009 6:39 am

    I LOVE the scrap quilt you made! It is beautiful.

  3. dixiemango permalink
    March 5, 2009 11:34 am

    Those look great. I especially love the one with the circles for quilting. Clever idea!

  4. March 5, 2009 4:50 pm

    Wow, that quilt is awesome! What a wonderful way to look back and remember all the projects youve done! Your lemon ckae looks yummy too!

  5. March 7, 2009 8:09 am

    wow the scrap quilt! and the other quilt too 😉 what a perfect project to close out stash game with 🙂

  6. March 8, 2009 1:47 pm

    I can’t decide which of the two quilts I like best. They’re gorgeous! I like your ‘method’ of just taking out two scrps at a time to sew together.

    I’ve got to look into that line of fabric you made the scalloped blanket with. It’s beautiful!

  7. March 9, 2009 10:25 am

    I love all the different fabrics–a little like a collage journal of your sewing history:). The quilt with the squares is lovely as is the scallop blanket. I love the red. As always, I’m inspired.

  8. Jo Morrison permalink
    March 27, 2009 7:49 am

    i just found your site and love what you do. the “do i have that much fabric” sure hit home! i have a habit of keeping every little scrap….just in case. now i know something i can do!!
    would you have any advice for me. new at doing lounge pants. made a pair for my step-bro and i’m afraid they aren’t wide enough. i’m using new york yankee fleece and wondered if i just added a panel in the back/crotch if that would do it. the waistband and legs are plenty big. i was in a hurry as usual!!
    thanks, jo

Leave a Reply

