Skip to content

Yellow…

February 18, 2009

 Photobucket
I’m not participating in Erin’s yellow week, but I couldn’t help picking up these Meyer lemons at Costco. Buying lemons makes me happy and I’ve always wanted to try Meyer lemons. Now that I have, I think I actually prefer the plain old, regular ones. The color on these is so vibrant, though! My photo doesn’t come close to doing them justice.

Photobucket
I made this lemon cake with half of the box of lemons. It turned out very tasty, though I think I will try a different recipe next time. I didn’t measure my pans, but perhaps they are eight inch. Whatever the reason, the batter didn’t even come close to fitting into one pan. Last time I tried to squeeze extra batter into a cake pan, I was very sorry! So I did two layers instead. And I don’t know why my glaze was clear instead of white. Definitely don’t skip the glaze though…it’s what makes the cake moist and gives it a lot of it’s lemon flavor.
Photobucket

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 5:23 pm

    beautiful fruit! And your lemon cake looks delicious!

  2. February 19, 2009 11:04 am

    ohh yummy!

  3. February 20, 2009 9:49 am

    You cake looks delicious!

    I left an award for you on my blog:

    http://thriftycraftmama.blogspot.com/2009/02/blog-award.html

  4. February 22, 2009 6:33 pm

    I’ve never make a lemon cake before. And yours looks yummy – I just might try one myself.

  5. February 23, 2009 12:47 pm

    Oh I love a lemon cake, or a lemon bar or a lemonade:). Thanks for sharing this little bit of fun!

  6. March 2, 2009 2:24 pm

    looks very yummy.

Leave a Reply

