Skip to content

Fabric Love….

February 11, 2009
tags:

Photobucket 

Sew Mama Sew was asking questions about our stash. I love reading about other people’s fabric stashes, so I thought I would join in!
What do you usually sew?
I sew a lot of skirts and clothing for girls, but lately I’ve ventured into sewing clothing for me and using knits. I also enjoy quilting.

When you shop for fabric, what size cuts do you usually buy? (i.e. If you see something beautiful, but you don’t have a use for it right away, how much do you buy?)
It depends on what I’m buying for: Womens skirts, at least 1.5 yards; matchy for my boys, 3 yards; just something pretty, a yard or two. I buy a lot from co-ops, so I rarely buy less than a yard.

Do you buy on impulse or do you go out looking for something you need?
I guess somewhere between those. Since I normally buy from co-ops, I’m forced to buy (ha) whatever they are buying at the time. I do try and have some general idea of what I’ll do with it, but I often change my mind.

Are you a pre-washer? If you are, do you wash your fabric before you need it, or only when you’re ready to use it?
Yes, I almost always pre-wash before I even put it away.

Do you iron it?
Only when I go to sew with it. And not as nicely as I probably should.

How do you sort it? (color, print size, collection, etc.)
It seems like I’m resorting my fabric all the time. Probably mostly because I’m trying to fit it in too small a space, so it gets messed up really easily. I usually sort it by skirt fabric, little girl fabric (basically pieces that are too small for adult skirts), boy fabric, knits, and other (PUL, wool, etc). I store my scraps in ziplocks by color. I just sorted them out (not all the way done yet) and it is so nice being able to see what I have all in one glance.

Do you have any special folding techniques?
nope! I just try and fold them so they’ll fit in my cupboard.

How do you store your fabric?
Most of my fabric is stored in a TV amoire that’s in our bedroom. The rest of it is squeezed into our closet. I have more fabric in my closet than I do clothes!

What tips do you have for building up a well-rounded stash?
Buy solids! That is something I didn’t do until recently and I was alway wishing I had a solid to match my prints. If you quilt, especially, look at your stash and see what colors you don’t have much of. We all obviously have favorite colors, but if that’s all you buy, you’re going to have a hard time putting together a pretty quilt!

When do you say enough is enough?
When I feel overwhelmed at my stash and it becomes a “to-do” list, instead of inspiring.

What are some of your favorite stash-busting projects?
Skirts, quilts, purses, it kind of depends on what I’m trying to use up!

Do you have a current favorite print in your stash? Let’s see it!
I would have to say my Kerchief Girls. I love, love them! I have no idea what I will make with them, since I can’t get more and I’m scared to use it! I would love to find some in red to. 🙂
Photobucket
 

What’s your definition of the perfect stash?
Oh my…..I have no idea! They’re always coming out with such lovely fabrics! I suppose just having a nice balance between prints, polka dots, stripes, solids, etc?!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 8:26 am

    pretty stash 🙂 that kerchief girls is really cute!

Leave a Reply

