Skip to content

Yes, I’m Still Alive…

February 5, 2009
tags: , ,

      I’m not sure I can remember when I didn’t post for this long. It’s funny…when the new year started I had all sorts of blogging plans. But they all sort of went by the wayside.
I have been sewing, though. I’m participating in what is known as “Stash Game” on Sewing Mamas. The point is to not buy fabric and sew up as much of your “stash” as you can. I’m not at too many yards, yet, but I have done some challenging for me sewing. Like sewing with knits! This for me is a big thing. I’ve made undies for my boys before, but that is it. I am moderately proficient with wovens, so it’s sort of frustrating feeling like I’m starting over. But I’m planning on forging ahead. I know I’ll never get any better if I don’t practice.
My first project was pajamas for my three boys. I was able to use a walking foot, which made it so much easier! My dear friend had lent her’s to me to try it out, since I’ve been considering buying one. Good timing! I think I might be buying serger though. This is mighty tempting and it seems to get good reviews. And it has differential feed, which is one of my must-haves!

The pjs….I made three pairs, but the pair on my little one got hot chocolate all over the front before I could photograph all three together.
Knit PJ's

First Knit Clothing

A custom Birthday Banner for my shop. I really love the way it turned out!

Birthday Banner, Girl's Side

Birthday Banner, Boy's Side

Another Emmaline Apron…..hope you aren’t tired of these yet because I have four more planned! This is my favorite yet. It was for a bridal shower gift.
Emmaline Apron

Emmaline Apron

Flax-filled boo-boo bears for a local custom order….I have no room to store 50 pounds of flax, so I’m very glad to be down to a gallon sized ziplock!
Flax Filled Bears

I don’t think I’ve mentioned that I’m doing Project Improv. I’ve made a few blocks far and it is so much fun! I made a few blocks for a mama who lost her little girl. 😦 Take a lesson from me and don’t mail quilt squares in a regular un-taped envelope. The came out and got lost in the mail! I think they turned out pretty cute, so it was a little sad.
Baby Quilt Blocks

I’m working on a dress right now. It’s sort of the muslin, only I can’t stand the thought of all that work, so I’m using fabric I would actually wear. Hopefully I’ll have something to show soon. Well, I have more to share, but I’ll save it for another post.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 3:44 pm

    Wow, you’ve been busy! All very nice.

  2. February 8, 2009 7:11 pm

    Very cute stuff! Love the pjs and the aprons!!

  3. dixiemango permalink
    February 9, 2009 5:30 am

    LOVE LOVE those pjs. Too cute. I am a little scared of knit myself.

  4. February 9, 2009 10:41 pm

    I LOVE those pjs! Emmeline aprons are always nice to see. I have the pattern but haven’t sewn anything with it yet.

  5. February 10, 2009 11:13 am

    My you are busy! I love it all, though I keep coming back to visit the train quilt. love those little boo-boo bears, too.

  6. February 10, 2009 12:13 pm

    I love my serger. I recently upgraded to a Pfaff (after having my 1st one for 15+ years). Have you checked out your local craigslist.com? I sold my serger there – it was snatched up pretty quickly. Anyway, that might be a good place to start – not spend too much and see how much you like serging.
    The pjs are too cute!

  7. February 25, 2009 10:10 am

    You are so talented!! I love everything you have made :o)

  8. February 26, 2009 11:38 am

    I LOVE those pj’s! Ottobre is so great. Where did you find that adorable fabric?

  9. Mandy permalink
    March 12, 2009 8:44 pm

    Is the pj pattern from Ottobre?

Leave a Reply

