Skip to content

A Boy and His Quilt…

January 14, 2009

I actually finished these quilts in time for Christmas, it just took me a long time to take pictures. As you can see, I still haven’t trimmed the threads on the one. You can do that when it’s for a 3 year old. He gave me a huge hug when he opened it. I don’t remember his exact words, but lets just say it made all the time invested more than worth it.

Train Quilt

Train Quilt
I actually made the quilt top of the train quilt several years ago. I intended it for a duvet, but I decided that wiggly sleepers and duvet covers don’t mix. I don’t know what that kid was doing, but the comforter was always ending up seperate from the cover. I have been meaning to make it into a quilt for a long time and it feels good to finally be done. I made this for J, my 6 year old son, who is a train fanatic. I did run into problems with the binding though. I would love some advice. I did the cheater, pull the back to the front binding, which I have done before. But the batting is getting all folded up inside, if that makes sense. I didn’t think you HAD to quilt right up to the edge of the quilt, but now I’m wondering if you do? I used Warm and Natural, if that matters. Quilt masters, now would be a great time to comment!

Fireman Quilt

Fireman Quilt

Fireman Quilt
The Fireman quilt is for JJ (the 3 year old). I used this fabric, which I fell in love with at the quilt store. I have never made such a big quilt before and it was a challenge on my little machine (it’s 3/4 size). I did stippling (or meandering…or something!) for the first time with both these quilts and I loved it! Not that they are anywhere perfect, of course. But I had fun doing it and I think it looks cute. A public service announcement, though. Don’t use Joann’s red flannel unless you’ve washed it at least 10 times first! It ran all over the quilt, which of course I dried without noticing. Thankfully, I have got lots of advice on how to fix it which hopefully will work! I didn’t use a pattern for either quilt. I wanted to show as much of the firemen fabric as I could, so I tried to chose a layout that would do that.

In other news, did you see that Grosgrain is now giving away women’s clothing?! How cool is that! Anna Maria is doing a giveaway too.

Also, you have to check out the sweet quilt my little sister made. I think it’s awfully cute.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 10:10 pm

    Adorable! I really want to try and make a quilt this year- I can’t think of a more difficult, stretch-my-ability goal. LOVE the train quilt!

  2. January 15, 2009 7:02 am

    I love those color combos. You did a great job!

  3. January 15, 2009 7:21 am

    love those quilts, my oldest is a train fanatic too! i have no advise on the binding and i hope the dye running will work out.

  4. January 15, 2009 8:42 am

    Those are spectacular. What a cherished memory it will be.

  5. January 15, 2009 10:06 am

    These quilts are gorgeous! I want to learn to quilt – someday…

  6. January 16, 2009 10:01 pm

    What absolutely beautiful quilts! That is one awesome talent to have. I still haven’t ventured into quilts, except for the small one I made for my dog Cocoa.

  7. January 19, 2009 5:05 pm

    they are both lovely. . . one of these days I’ll get brave and try. my little guy would love one like your train quilt. . . thanks for sharing it.

  8. dixiemango permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:05 am

    Those quilts are great. Way to go! I especially love the fireman one. So fun!

  9. January 20, 2009 2:31 pm

    Those are beautiful! I’m so glad they were a hit. I’m starting to quilt myself, so you’ve inspired me!

  10. January 24, 2009 3:35 am

    Very nice job! Love it.

  11. January 24, 2009 8:53 pm

    Oh absolutely beautiful quilts! I really love them! I hope to learn to quilt some day! Have a restful weekend.

  12. January 30, 2009 11:39 pm

    lovely quilts. actually i’m starting to quilt too.. this is very inspiring..

  13. February 1, 2009 6:47 pm

    Love the train quilt! What a lucky little guy!

Leave a Reply

