Skip to content

House Cleaning….

January 5, 2009

No, not that kind of house cleaning, though I’m in desperate need of that too….my house is a wreck! I’m talking about the blog kind. Projects I’ve forgotten to show, wonderful things I’ve received, etc.

 IMG_5253

Leslie from A Friend to Knit With had some extra yarn after finishing a project. I know I would have been stingy and kept it all to myself. But being much less selfish than I, she sent a skein my way. It is so pretty and I can’t wait to use it. The fact that all I can knit right now is a scarf is sort of holding me back. 🙂 Note….I am going to try and stop apologizing for my horrid pictures. I will NOT apologize that this picture was taken at 4am and doesn’t do this yarn any justice.

I love books….my husband teases me that books are the other man in my life. I have a hard time not reading….even the cereal box at breakfast. So new books are a real treasure. I got several for Christmas, plus one more that I picked out myself with a Joanns gift card, also from Christmas. I’m very excited to try some new projects. I’m a little worried about Printing by Hand though. Do I really need to start a whole new catagory of craft items to purchase?!

 Printing by Hand by Lena Corwin
IMG_5261

Seams to me by Anna Maria Horner
IMG_5256

Bend the Rules Sewing by Amy Karol

IMG_5255

Baking Artisan Bread by Ciril Hitz

IMG_5262

 
Photobucket
I finished this bag a while back in a trade with an artist friend. She made my new Etsy banner and business cards and I made her a diaper bag (she’s expecting her first in May!). I have a love/hate relationship with this bag. Most of it I LOVE, but there are a few things than annoy me. It doesn’t stand up as nicely as I would like and I wasn’t able to do a nice padded pocket for her laptop. The color in the above photo is way off….it is a really pretty shade of green. The other pics are closer, but still not quite right.
Photobucket
My Bernina is a real trooper and I love her, but she just hasn’t got enough muscle sometimes and I think if I had interfaced the bag like I would have liked, there would have been no way she could have sewn through all those layers of canvas. And she really got angry when I tried topstitching the laptop pocket! I think I will have to bite the bullet someday and get an older machine  to handle the tougher projects. I love the color  my friend chose for the outside of that bag and I love, love, love the japanese fabric on the inside. It’s the first real project I’ve done with japanese fabric (other than a crayon roll) and it was so fun using such a beautiful fabric.
Photobucket
The nitty-gritty…self drafted, canvas outer, japanese import guaze lining, one zipped inner pocket, two elastic bottle pockets, large divider, random pleats.
Photobucket

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2009 11:59 am

    mm that yarn in gorgeous! it would make a lovely scarf 😉 I love to read too and read everything in sight! the seams to me book is great, i think you will really enjoy it and I can’t wait to hear what you think about the hand printing fabric!

  2. January 5, 2009 12:01 pm

    oh rats i forgot- that diaper bag is lovely, what about a simple industrial machine for for doing heavy duty stuff, i think there are a couple under $300 new for home sewing and you’d be able to sew denim as well if you wanted too 🙂

  3. January 5, 2009 3:24 pm

    That is a beautiful diaper bag ! I get frustrated when I can’t get my sewing machine to work like I want it to..or think it should!
    The books look very interesting and I was able to find one at my library, the one on breaking the rules…what else would I find? LOL!
    I looked down your blog and thought the little britches for your son were adorable! Wow, makes me wish mine were still teeter-totterin’ about……

  4. January 6, 2009 6:48 am

    Cool books, I’ll have to check them out!

  5. dixiemango permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:10 am

    Love the diaper bag… way to go. I also got Seam to Me. LOVE it!!

  6. January 6, 2009 10:12 am

    wow, what beutiful yarn! I love the book collection too, some nice ones in there! I am hosting a children’s valentine swap if your interested :O)

  7. handmadeoholic permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:41 pm

    I have 2 of the 4 book you mentioned. I love Bend the Rules, and Seams to me…I really want to get Amy Butler’s Little Stitches…

  8. January 7, 2009 2:35 pm

    Oh, you’ve got some great stuff there! I love the yarn color! I would love those books myself, especially the artisan bread and the seam to me. Great stuff!

  9. January 7, 2009 9:23 pm

    ah books, I have and addiction too! that one on artisan bread looks fabulous! I just recently decided I want to start making home made bread.

  10. January 9, 2009 10:25 pm

    what a fabulous collection of books!
    have fun reading those! can’t wait
    to see the projects you make from
    them! 🙂

  11. January 13, 2009 11:19 am

    so many fun things to try and your christmas tree skirt and the pjs are beautiful. happy new year.

  12. January 21, 2009 7:11 am

    Hi,

    I didn’t see a spot to leave comments about your quilts, so am leaving them here. They are both so cute; you did a great job on the meandering quilting. I’ve done it a couple of times and am still not comfortable with it yet but am determined to get there. It sure frees you up!

    btw – what tips were you given to get the red out?

    Thanks!

  13. January 30, 2009 10:16 am

    Your comment about wanting an older machine for heavy stuff has validated me! My friend is a Viking snob; I’m an old-machine sort of girl. We’re always bickering about it. You’ve reminded me while I’ll never part with my old machines!

    As for an entry-level industrial….the previous commenter mentioned that you can get one for around $300. My mom had one of those. A Singer, home-industrial-strength machine. She hated it. It bounced all over the place and couldn’t sew through layers as well as her 1970s Singer. She sold it and went back to her Touch and Sew. If I were you, I’d just get an old machine! (Of course, if you’re going to get a REAL industrial machine, that’s another story!)

Leave a Reply

