Skip to content

Looking Ahead….

January 1, 2009

It’s been almost one year, 115 posts, 387 comments and many yards of fabric sewn (and even more bought!). I’ve discovered that I like blogging much more than I thought I would when I started this blog to try to promote my Etsy shop. I’m not so sure it’s been a great help on that front, but I know I do plan on continuing this blog, shop or no shop. There’s such a great online community of crafters….so much inspiration, help, and encouragement.
I have lots of ideas and plans for the coming year….lots of sewing, maybe learning to knit (!?), organizing, new things for my shop, and lots more.
First on my list was joining Wardrobe Refashion. I’ve been trying to not buy much clothing anyway….just knits, jeans, socks, stuff like that. So I figured, I might as well jump in. I’m hoping it doesn’t start for a couple days, though, because tomorrow we’re headed to the big city for my birthday. I don’t plan on buying anything, but I’d like to keep that option open should the opportunity present itself! I signed up for four months. I probably will honestly mostly be sewing things for myself from fabric, not repurposing. But that still counts for something, right? Come join us! I think it’s going to be fun!

I just finished up this skirt and blouse for me. I think I’m going to redo the neckline….I’m just not sure what I’m going to do. It doesn’t lay right, even though you can’t tell in the picture. I drafted the top based on a blouse that I own. I really love the original blouse and I would love to be able to get a better copy of it. I got to use some hem tape from the stash I got from my Grandma to trim the bottom of the skirt. It was a perfect match and I love getting to use my Grandma’s things.
IMG_5233
IMG_5237

IMG_5238

I’ll be posting pics of the two Christmas quilts as soon as I take them. They weren’t perfect (not even close!), but the boys loved them and that’s the important thing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2009 1:59 pm

    yay! i am glad you joined wardrobe refashion! I am looking forward to seeing all of you projects πŸ™‚ I like the outfit it’s very pretty and looks good on you! Did you use a pattern for the skirt?

  2. January 1, 2009 7:09 pm

    You did a great job mama! :d

  3. January 2, 2009 8:18 pm

    Looks gorgeous!

  4. January 4, 2009 8:22 pm

    great job. love the skirt and the hemline. neckline area…what if you inserted a skinny satin ribbon and pulled it a little tight. that might give it just a pucker it needs and hides the little pulls. the ribbon comes out in the front right in the center and can tie in a little bow or something. anyways…just a suggest. they look great together though.. πŸ™‚

  5. January 4, 2009 8:23 pm

    oh, maybe even a have the ribbon come out between the center and one shoulder. just on the side a bit. that might be cute too. ok. enough.

  6. January 5, 2009 5:49 pm

    You were so sweet to vote for the little dress I made for my SweetPea when you clearly are talented with your beautiful creation! I still have not braved to sew something for myself. I mean, I have a dress-form and until I get it perfectly situated for my figure then I will start – at least that’s a good excuse…. πŸ™‚

    I like that you used something from your grandmother’s stash – is that so incredibly gratifying!?

Leave a Reply

