Skip to content

Etsy Feature: Crochet Gal

December 12, 2008
tags:

Today the feature is Valerie of  CrochetGal. She can do some amazing things with yarn and a crochet hook! She has many beautiful shawls for sale, as well as many other things. She’s also destashing right now, so you should check out her yarn for sale!

Tell us a bit about who you are & where you are based out of.
I’m Crochetgal and I’m based in the ‘Valley of the Sun’,
Phoenix, Arizona, USA.

How long have you been crafting?
I’ve been doing various crafts since my junior school days. I started sewing because I
couldn’t afford to buy the pieces I wanted when I was in high school.
I started crocheting many, many years ago while in high school but never really continued on with it as life progressed. I tried to learn to knit but that didn’t ‘take’ at all. I put the crocheting aside when I went on to University and sort of forgot about it for years as I made my career in Computer Systems Design. Somewhere around fall 2002 I was watching the television when I saw an advertizement with a small child watching a battery operated plastic toy. At that time I turned to my partner and told him explicitly that for that Christmas there would be no plastic or batteries in any of the toys that we were giving his two young grandchildren. That’s when I started crocheting again, starting with small amigurami animals. I’ve since progressed to doing wearable art.

I’ve also started purchasing yarns direct from the manufacturers in order to get a better price on the yarns that I like. I’m more than willing to order for other crafters as well. All they need to do is contact me!

Who or what inspires you?
I’m inspired by various fibers and my moods. I can have a specific yarn in my stash for
years and then, out of the blue, it will tell me what it wants to be. I also happen to work part time for a small company here in town that makes incredible ribbon jackets and the owner/designer is an inspiration to everyone who works for her. It is from her that I have learned how to blend yarns and colours successfully.

What is one of your favorite things you’ve ever made?
This is a really tough question as I’ve got so many favourites. One of my most inspired
pieces is a Jade bamboo shrug. I had the pattern in my collection for a year or so, but
when I saw the actual piece at a trunk show I knew I just had to try it.

I get joy out of creating a special, custom piece for someone.

How did you come up with your shop name?
I was doing a demonstration session for younger children along with a knitter and a
spinner. The kids were having problems remembering our names and our techniques, so
we told the kids to call us CrochetGal, KnitterGal and SpinnerGal. We’ve used these
names ever since!

What is one of your favorite items in your shop?
One of my favourite items in my shop is my Fisherman Sweaters. These evolved because
my partner was wearing a very old and ratty knitted sweater that should have been trashed years ago. He had looked for a new one but couldn’t find anything suitable, as had I. It was in the early fall and I was wanting to learn how to do cable crochet so I challenged myself to make him a sweater for Christmas. He’s now got a few and I actually managed to make one for myself as well.

A second favourite is my shawl collection. There isn’t one specifically that I like more than any other. I love each one because every one is completely unique in the blend of yarns that were chosen for each.

Anything else you want to say?
I’ve always felt that people should give back to the community as much as possible. In that respect, I began crocheting blankets for Project Linus, an organization that provides blankets for kids in crisis. I crochet at least one blanket a month for our local chapter. I’m an active member of the Crochet Guild of America and a member of the Desert Crochet Guild based in Phoenix, Arizona.

She is currently offering 30% off all of her seasonal items and free shipping for orders totalling $40 or more in her shop. A great time to buy for the holidays!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2008 12:34 am

    I love crochet ! look at the lovely shawls , oh you have me in idea mode now 🙂 Although it does take a long time to crochet!

  2. December 13, 2008 2:53 am

    thanks for the feature. Its very well written and much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

