Skip to content

Sewing Like a Crazy Woman…

October 24, 2008

well, at least for me! I know for some people this would not be an impressive amount of sewing in two weeks time! I also have some crayon rolls sewn up, but they didn’t make it to the picture taking party. Besides not being too exciting, I need to rip out some topstitching and re-do it. I wish my seam ripper and I didn’t hang out quite so much.

First off, an apron for my upcoming craft show. This isn’t to sell….this is for me to wear to hold change, pens, etc. I’m not completely thrilled with how it turned out (good thing you can’t see it too close), but it will be fun to have. I used this tutorial with my own little tweaks.

I also finished up a whole bunch of little girl’s aprons. Seven to be exact. I hope to make some boyish ones also. My plan is to purchase some cookie cutters and package one along with an apron and a recipe. A cute Christmas gift, I think. My boys love wearing my aprons when they wash dishes…..gotta love that! Four of the aprons are matchy, matchy….one bigger and one little. I thought that way, if someone wanted to do sister’s, it would work nicely.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next up are several purses. I wasn’t really planning on making any for the show, but after sewing up the girl’s one, I was feeling inspired. This was my first time making clutches. They aren’t perfect, but I really love them. I won’t be sad at all if they don’t sell, because I will use them myself. I love the colors and the shapes. I also really love the fabric combination on the patchy purse. I love orange and green together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

All the purses were self drafted, though I used a tutorial on SewingMamas to make the little girl’s purse and used the knowledge I gained from that to draft the larger one.

I traded with an artist friend of mine to make me a new banner for my shop. Didn’t she do a lovely job? I love it so much! I’m going to use it for my first ever business cards too.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2008 7:08 am

    I love it!

    I love the last purse especially – and the banner is FAB! Can’t wait to see it in action!

  2. October 24, 2008 7:10 am

    Look at you go! Everything looks adorable.

  3. melissa gullberg permalink
    October 24, 2008 11:41 am

    These are great! the aprons are so cute, It makes me wany a little girl (well I already did:)
    I think the green and brown clutch is my favorite, awesome job!

    Melissa

  4. October 24, 2008 7:43 pm

    The aprons would make great gifts! And I do think you did an imressive amount of sewing 🙂

  5. Trisha permalink
    October 25, 2008 12:31 pm

    You commented on my blog from TBW, so I thought I’d check yours out. 🙂 I love the apron! And that last purse looks very fun.

  6. October 25, 2008 2:21 pm

    love the orange and green too. i hope the little sell goes great!! good luck.

  7. October 25, 2008 2:50 pm

    Everything look great!! I have to tell you, my seam ripper and I are BFF…..I’ve just come to terms with it. I have some bag top stitch ripping to do this evening..Woo Hoo!! I guess it is what it is ;>)

  8. October 25, 2008 6:59 pm

    LOVE that green and orange purse!!! adorable!!

  9. October 26, 2008 8:43 pm

    I do really love everything, but tops for me are your aprons. I just really like the way you display them all lined up. Such pretty colors and fabric!

  10. October 27, 2008 12:40 pm

    Very cute apron, I really like it. I have some old pj’s I’m wanting to turn into a craft apron – they’re my fav, but the draw string as almost fallen out of the waist band – their so worn! Maybe I’ll make it something like yours – it’s very cute.

  11. October 28, 2008 3:42 am

    Very cute apron!! And very practical too.

  12. October 28, 2008 3:48 am

    I love the aprons!!! Would make such great gifts!
    Great blog too…happy creative tuesday!

  13. October 28, 2008 8:08 am

    Those are great. You have the best fabric!

  14. October 28, 2008 10:23 am

    Love everything! my favorite is patchwork apron 😉

Leave a Reply

