Skip to content

Tortillas….

September 22, 2008

I’ve had a horrible time with the other tortilla recipes I’ve tried. It was probably me and not the recipe, but still, I was so excited when I made this recipe and it turned out wonderful. I’ve made it with both whole wheat and white flour and they both are delicious. The dough is easy to roll out too. You’ll never want to eat those yucky store bought, hydrogenated oil tortillas again.

Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas ~  makes about 16-20
4 cups whole grain flour (soft white, golden or red wheat)

1 teaspoon salt
1 scant teaspoon baking powder
5 tablespoons oil (put in water)
1 1/2 cup or more hot water (nearly boiling)
 
mix dry ingredients
add oil to water and then mix with dry ingredients
stir, then knead by hand
cover with plastic and a towel
let set 40-60 minutes
roll out, not too thin, and cook on a skillet on higher heat
they should bubble up and then flip, brown just barely
as you finish each one, stack them and wrap in a towel, it keeps the moisture in.

On a completely different topic, Martha Stewart is holding a contest on her blog and will be featuring several blogs on her blog! Wouldn’t that be amazing!

And Grosgrain is holding yet another gorgeous giveaway! Somehow I don’t think my boys would look quite that cute in it.

Anybody else have too much zucchini? I thought I would try this recipe tonight. I love cream soups and have never made one with zucchini before…..sounds yummy. I won’t be using cream though….probably half-and-half and milk. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2008 2:32 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ve always wanted to try and make my own tortillas. I’m off to check out that martha stewart thing… 🙂

  2. September 29, 2008 5:04 am

    Thanks for posting the recipe! My last ww tortilla attempt was a huge failure; these were great!

Leave a Reply

