Skip to content

A Quilt….

August 20, 2008
tags: ,

This quilt is an aniversary gift for a friend. For some reason, I had a terrible time with the binding. I was going to do a wide binding and ended up taking it off, cutting it narrower and sewing it back on. I didn’t baste before quilting…..and realized that was a big mistake. It’s, shall we say, rustic. Very rustic! I hope she likes it. I didn’t know what colors she has in her house, so I went with something fairly neutral. I added the red stripe on the back and in the corners of the border (you can’t really see that in the pics) because I really felt like it needed a little bit more color. Oh….and I just realized that the second pic is sideways….but I’m feeling way too lazy to fix it right now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 12:46 pm

    Good job – I really like this. There are so many quilts made in sickly-sweet candy colours – it’s great to see one in neutrals. I could actually imagine having this around for years. Neutral it may be, but it’s far from boring – the greens and browns really evoke nature and woodland. I hope your friend loves it.

  2. August 20, 2008 1:51 pm

    looks great!!!
    (don’t worry — i can’t do binding to save my life!!!)

  3. August 21, 2008 6:56 am

    I love the colors here! This quilt is beautiful, and I like rustic!

    Sorry, friend, I’ve been crazy-running-around busy and working at a snails pace at the sewing machine (I can barely see my garments when I sit to sew over my burgeoning tummy!) but I was actually planning on mailing your dress tomorrow… we haven’t forgot about you! It’s done now, finally! Thanks for being so patient!

Leave a Reply

