Skip to content

I need help…..

August 1, 2008

 

….so, I made this skirt. I have a hard time sewing with fabrics I don’t like, so I used some of my favorite fabrics. Including all the Heather Ross Matrioshka Dolls. But I’m not so sure it’s “me”. If you saw someone wearing this skirt, would you be thinking, “wow…how pretty!” or “wow……I can’t believe they’re wearing that in public!”. I’m not a flashy dresser. I like lots of pretty colors, but I don’t know wear, say, quilted jackets…you know, the ones that look like crazy quilts. They are amazing, but not my style at all. Is that what this looks like? Please help!…..I definitely need it.

A few more hours for my giveaway!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2008 10:58 am

    I like it…and have a couple skirts made in a similar way except longer. Your skirt puts me in mind of “Sacred Threads” label. They make lots of gore skirts with a different fabric for each gore.

    The best thing you can do is decide how you feel about it. Can you be comfortable in public wearing it, or will you be worried about how other people see you? Why not wear it at home a few times…wash a few times…see how you feel when you are wearing it.

    One of the wonderful things about sewing our own clothing is we don’t have to look like everyone else…we can suit our own “comfort-zone” taste and not step out of it if we don’t choose to.

    Personally…I’m pretty much stuck in the 60’s and don’t care how anyone else feels about how I dress…except my husband.

    I’ve got one skirt I made using a pretty, busy, paisley-patterned vintage sheet. It’s one of my favorite, comfy skirts…I gave what other people would think a fleeting thought then let it go. I like wearing it…so I do. And best of all…there’s not another one like it in the world. Unique is good.

    If you decide you don’t like it…send that baby to me. I’ll wear it in a heartbeat…and love it. 🙂

  2. daisyeyes permalink
    August 1, 2008 11:02 am

    I think it’s totally cool and cute! I’m like you, I don’t wear “loud” colors either and I get what you say about feeling like it’s not you…but if you made it out of fabrics you love then you should feel proud to wear it! I think it’s totally fun!

  3. August 1, 2008 11:50 am

    Well, I’m certainly not one to give fashion advice, but as soon as I saw the skirt, I thought, “I could do that! And I’d so wear it, too!”

    So, for whatever THAT’S worth. 😛

  4. August 1, 2008 12:29 pm

    I love it. I also think it would loo great with the stripes going a little diagonal/a little on the bias

  5. August 1, 2008 2:35 pm

    I’m not into the quilted jacket look either, but I do have a couple skirts that are bolder and brighter than the rest. I wear them whenever I feel like I need a pick-me-up. I like the skirt you made…those are some of my favorite fabrics, too. So I say: go for it!! And if anyone stares, it’ll just be because they wish *they* had a skirt like that!
    ~Rebecka

  6. August 1, 2008 2:42 pm

    it has bright colors, but the chocolate border ties it all together and kind-of ‘calms’ it down.

    i think its cute!

  7. August 1, 2008 10:49 pm

    I love it! As long as you wear it with a plain shirt and shoes, you’re good to go 🙂

  8. August 2, 2008 1:13 am

    ok, i shall be quite honest here. hope you don’t hate me for it. let me begin by saying i am so not a fan of the crazy quilted jacket look. i appreciate the technical skill required, but just really don’t like the look.

    imho, the problem is the fabrics have nothing that ties them together. there is not theme, if you will. the colors are different in tone, hue, intensity, etc. it looks a bit like you grabbed random fabrics and sewed them together. some people like that look.

    the placement of the fabric panels might make a difference. the aqua has a bit of dark brown and it is placed directly next to the dark brown, while the two orangish tones are also next to each other. if the orange tones and brown tones had been alternated, it might have given a little more cohesion. i don’t think i would have used one of the panel fabrics for the border. it draws too much attention that one panel. perhaps a different color top could also pull it together.

    mixing fabrics is hard….really, really hard. it takes practice and experimentation.

    i am not trying to say, “omg, that’s hideous. i would never wear it.” just trying to give you some food for thought. i also realize some people may look at my blog and think, “dear heavens, what *was* she thinking?”

  9. August 2, 2008 4:39 am

    When I first opened your blog, I thought “ooooh, that’s cute”! I think paired with a simple, solid top you’d be a-ok. 🙂

  10. August 2, 2008 6:23 am

    I just found your blog via Sew Mama Sew and I love this skirt! I’d like to make one too! And while I wouldn’t wear a quilted jacket, I would wear that skirt! I think the skirt is just edgy enough to be cool but not totally wild.

  11. Angela permalink
    August 3, 2008 2:52 pm

    I love this skirt. If I saw someone wearing it, I would be tempted to run them down and take it off them. ;o) I really love natural colors and more simple clothing (not overly embellished). This fits both.

  12. August 4, 2008 6:16 pm

    I definitely like it! When I saw it in the picture, my first thought was that I would love to have it! I like that the colors all go well together, even the blue that kind of stands out, but also goes with the other more autumn colors because it has the brown, plus it’s just a nice complement to the other colors!

  13. August 5, 2008 6:45 am

    I love it!! I’ve been waiting a skirt like that one!! Awesome work!

  14. August 9, 2008 6:11 pm

    I love the skirt ! You should definitely wear it!

  15. August 10, 2008 6:08 am

    I love the skirt! All 3 of my girls would wear it! You make darling stuff!

Leave a Reply

