Skip to content

Girl Sewing!…

July 9, 2008

I have three little boys and most of my friends have boys…even my sister who is pregnant is expecting a boy. So I don’t have much need to sew for girls, sadly. But I decided to do it, anyway. I figure it will be nice to have them on hand for gifts or I can put them in my shop. My first attempt was a layered twirly skirt. I used this tutorial, which was lovely and very well written, but I think I still managed to mess it up. She has you sew the ruffle on in the flat, which worked great until I went to join the under skirt to the upper skirt and the side seam on the one side was in the way. I’m not sure how to describe it and i have the sneaking suspicion that I was doing something silly and completely missing the obvious. I ended up ripping that part out and redoing it. It also ended up shorter than they look in the pic. Oh well! I still think it’s adorable and I know the next one will be easy! It was really fun to make and went together fast, minus my mistakes. I think I’m going to make my own measurements for the next one though. I like my skirts a bit longer.

I also sewed up this pouch sling for my sister. She was due on the fourth…can you tell I do a lot of things last minute?! I really like how it turned out. The Amy Butler Nigella is such a perfect weight for these and the Wood Fern is such a pretty, classy print. I used Jan Andrea’s instructions, except that I padded one of the rails with fleece. I used my sister’s measurements, but I’m still thinking it might be too big. Hopefully I’m wrong! The padding will make it a bit trickier to shorten.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 4:14 pm

    The skirt is precious. I really enjoyed browsing your blog. You’ve shared some wonderful creations.

  2. July 9, 2008 8:29 pm

    It looks great! I love the fabrics and the green under layer looks wonderful with the Ginger Blossom. I have some girly skirts to make here, I may try this style…just longer for my modest ones. 🙂
    ~Rebecka

  3. July 9, 2008 8:55 pm

    Cute skirt! I love the blue/green fabric, it is one of my faves right now!

    You won a ticket to the homeschool conference on my blog! All I need is your email address.

    Love your blog, by the way. Lots of great crafty ideas here!

  4. July 9, 2008 9:06 pm

    Oh, I love that skirt. Alas, three boys here also…love your blog. Thanks for visiting mine!

  5. July 31, 2008 2:21 pm

    What a cute skirt! I can’t believe you sewed that. Well, yes I can. You have talent!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and entering my giveaway.

Leave a Reply

