Skip to content

Better Late than Never….

July 7, 2008

It feels so good to finish a project….especially one that was supposed to be for my sisters birthday…in April (blush). I’ve never made a messenger bag before and haven’t done much sewing with canvas. This kind of made for an interesting combination at times. I don’t think I will be making them in large numbers any time soon! I tried to be very careful to make it nice and sturdy, double stitching most of the seams, x-boxing and so on. Still, I’m a little nervous to see how it holds up. It is definitely an improvement to the bag she is carrying right now. She is in college, doing her prerequisites for nursing school and her bag is always packed with enormous, heavy books! So she wore her last bag out pretty fast. I think this one is much cuter….hopefully it’s strong too!

 I made it out of canvas, both the outside and the lining. I accented it with a piece of Amy Butler’s Sky Temple. I bought this fabric from a mama on the SewingMama’s forum. I liked it okay, but I mostly bought it to make a skirt for my Etsy shop. Well, when I saw it in person, I fell in love. It is so pretty in real life! The green canvas is much prettier than the pic shows too. I just can’t get it to photograph right. I put a zipper under the flap with two pockets, one for pencils and one for money. I think if I make another messenger bag I will be constructing it completely different. I think I did it the hard way this time!

 

I also finished three skirts to stock my Etsy shop with. I’ll be listing them over the next few days. I think I’ve mentioned before how much trouble I have listing things. For some reason, it makes my computer very cranky. So if you don’t see them soon, that’s why. I also need to take some better pictures first. They didn’t seem that wrinkly until I looked at the photos!

I’m loving this new layered style. I think it looks so sweet. I’m excited to come up with some pretty fabric combos to make a few more of them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2008 12:08 am

    Hey, we both made canvas messenger bags for our sisters! Great minds think alike, right? Yours looks amazing too! It doesn’t look messed up at all, it looks really professional! I love the strip of pattern! We should trade notes or something… those bags were definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever sewn. lol
    The new skirts are so cute, I especially like last one. If I am ever pregnant again, I am for sure going to buy one 🙂

  2. July 10, 2008 6:52 pm

    This is a really great bag. I love the strip of fabric contrast across the front and the front zipper pocket.

    Wonderful project!

Leave a Reply

