Skip to content

Summer is finally here!

June 30, 2008

This has been one of the coldest June’s I can remember. I don’t know how the weather statistics stack up, but by now we’ve usually had at least some warm stretches. Now that it’s here, my boys are really ready to be outside enjoying the sunshine.

On Saturday, we made ice cream. I bought this ice cream maker for my DH for his birthday when we were courting. I haven’t used it as much as I would like. I’m hoping to make lots of ice cream this summer. I know….some goal…eating more ice cream. But we eat it anyway, so it might as well be homemade. Especially with the ice cream containers getting smaller and smaller!

We just picked strawberries this last week (actually, my mom and sister picked them for me…bless them….I wasn’t looking forward to picking them with a one-year-old on my back!), so naturally, our first ice cream of the year was strawberry. We used this recipe. It’s a bad recipe, because it uses raw eggs. But, boy, was it good! I didn’t have time to cook up a custard and cool it. Well, I guess I had time, but I didn’t want to wait that long. This was by far the best strawberry ice cream I’ve ever had. I used organic eggs, so I felt a little better about that. Besides, I should have been killed long ago by all the raw cookie dough I’ve consumed.

Because of the cool weather, the strawberries (and everything else) have ripened late. Usually the season is wrapping up now, but this year it’s just starting. I found these in my garden this morning:

We enjoyed the three ripe ones I found. I don’t think any other strawberries compare to homegrown ones.

I love my blueberry plants. I dream of having enough to supply all our blueberries, but we just don’t have the space. The plants are so pretty year round. I’ve had them about 7 years now. I don’t know what is typical, but I’m pretty happy with how many blueberries they produce.

I have roses planted alongside the walkway to my house. They are in an ideal spot….good drainage, lots of sun and warmth from the siding. But it’s not a very wide sidewalk and they were taking over. My DH and I finally put up some trellises and tied them back…so much better! You don’t have to duck thorny branches to get into our house now!

Grosgrain is doing several giveaways of her amazing clothing. I’m almost hesitant to post this, for fear of more people entering….but I’m gready enough to want the extra entry! The things she makes are so cute! She’s giving away a strawberry capelet and an adorable dress.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

