Skip to content

Something for me…

June 11, 2008

I finally made my first non-skirt clothing item for me! I used McCall’s 5470, view A. I made several mistakes and I’m really not so sure about the puffed sleeves (I feel like Anne of Green Gables). I’m kind of proud of myself, though. A year ago I would have been too scared to even attempt the collar, button holes, etc. I followed the pattern exactly. It ended up very long…it will probably end up as a maternity top. The sleeves are also quite tight (maybe my arms are chubbier than I thought!). I also don’t care for the collar, though I’m not enough of a collar expert to know what I dislike. I also think I would distribute the gathers around a little more of the sleeves, to prevent it from being so puffy right at the top. All in all, I don’t think I will make it again. I’m excited to practice my new-found skills on another project. I’ve been thinking about using some of my Heather Ross fabrics to make camp shirts for my boys. Maybe now I’ll be brave enough to attempt it. Now if I can just be brave enough to cut into my precious fabric!

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megh permalink
    June 12, 2008 10:35 pm

    I really really like that shirt- the sleeves are just the right puffy-ness.

  2. Rachel permalink
    June 16, 2008 6:56 am

    I think your shirt looks really cute, very in style right now.

  3. Sarah permalink
    June 17, 2008 11:07 am

    Hi there. I found your blog via the Sewing Mamas forums.

    I LOVE that shirt! You did a great job. I am going to have to try out that pattern–and if I mess up, then maybe I’ll come away learning a few new things!

  4. June 19, 2008 7:43 am

    Wow, I think the shirt looks great! I’m still in the “skirt stage” of sewing my own clothes. I make a lot of baby clothes but they are so much easier and more forgiving (less fabric to mess up). I dream of the day I’m willing to attempt something like this.

Leave a Reply

