Skip to content

A little Amy Butler and a little Joel Dewberry

March 17, 2008

I finally sewed up the Swing Bag pattern I received at Christmas. I was waiting to get my Chocolate Sunburst Fabric in the mail. Well, it’s finally finished and I’m pretty happy with the result. A little sad too, though. For one thing, everybody who has made this pattern has said repeatedly how easy it was. But I had a few problems with it. So I feel a little dumb. Also, I love, love both of the fabric I used. I have wanted both of them for a long time. But now that it’s all made, I’m not sure it’s really me. I think I’m realizing that a lot of the fabrics I’m drawn to and love, aren’t really ones that I would want to wear or carry. And that makes me sad. I’m kind of a solids, retro, simple sort of girl. And this bag is pretty flowery. But even though I really like simple cords and twills, it’s a whole lot more fun sewing pretty prints. Maybe that’s why I like sewing quilts. Anyway, enough of my whining. I do like the way it turned out, mistakes and all and I like my bird applique, even if I cheated and didn’t do it the proper way at all. I used the drawing found here, though I messed up the feet (don’t look too close!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 1:20 pm

    I think they look great! but I understand how you feel…sometimes for me, things just don’t look as good sewn up as they did in my mind…even when everyone else says they are wonderful!
    ~Rebecka

Leave a Reply

