Skip to content

A Moment of Silence

February 28, 2008

You won’t be seeing any sewing out of me for a little while. Yesterday, I went to press my latest project. I plugged my iron in and though the lights shown brightly saying it was on, there was no heat! So now I need to shop for a new iron. I have to say, ironing is my least favorite thing, probably in the the whole world. My DH wears button-up shirts almost all the time and I’m ashamed to say how many times I’ve ironed them. But it’s pretty impossible to sew without an iron.

I’m in the middle of what I hope will be a purse tutorial. I’ve never done one before and am realizing that it is even more tricky than I thought getting photos that make sense. Hopefully I will have a new iron soon and will be able to post this tut for all of you to enjoy. Any iron recommendations? 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2008 1:06 pm

    I really like my mid-price GE iron I bought at either Target or W-M. I was just talking to my local quilt shop’s owner about irons last weekend..asking if the Rowentas are really any better? She said no, she’s had a couple and they didn’t last any longer or iron fabric any better than a “regular” iron. So, that’s my bit of advice and I hope you’re back to sewing soon!

    ~Rebecka

    PS: I hear you about the tutorial! I did one recently and I’m still wondering if the thing makes sense and if anyone would be able to follow it, lol!

  2. March 6, 2008 12:00 pm

    I LOVE my Braun Freestyle. I got it at Bed Bath & Beyond for $60 with a $20 rebate so it was only around $40, I think. I’ve dropped it on my tile and wood floors and it keeps going. I’ve had my sister and mom compliment me on what a great HOT iron I have. It irons anything. Just my 2 cents!

Leave a Reply

