Skip to content

A little Sewing, A little Baking

February 19, 2008

The Finished LoafI can finally post some actual sewing. Nothing for sale, but something made nonetheless. I’ve never made pants with a contrasting cuff before. They turned out pretty cute, though they are far from perfect. I got to use some cute squirrel flannel. I love it!

Photobucket

Photobucket

My cute, but uncooperative model

Photobucket

I also made my first doll-sized mei tei. I think it’s adorable! Unfortunately, I made it in extremely girly colors and I only have boys. I know….I shouldn’t care about such things…but I do! 🙂

Photobucket

The reverse side

Photobucket

Photobucket

Another first for me (wow….I’m trying all sorts of things!), was making sourdough bread. My mom gave me some starter and the next day I got sick. I have to say, the last thing I felt like doing each day I was sick was feeding sourdough starter. It was hard enough getting my DH and kids fed. But after we felt better, I was able to make my first batch of bread. It got a little dark and the crust was VERY hard to cut. I seriously thought we might have to get a saw out of the garage. But it actually tasted pretty good. It had a nice chewy texture and the crust was much easier to chew than it was to cut, thank goodness!

The Starter

Photobucket

Rising in the Fridge

Photobucket

The Finished loaf

Photobucket

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2008 3:10 pm

    I have that squirrel flannel, too, it’s destined to back a baby quilt. Yummy sourdough. Our starter died when we moved, I miss it. Looks like you had a great, productive day!

  2. February 25, 2008 7:12 am

    Cute pants! WTG on the sourdough bread, I haven’t had the courage to try that yet.

Leave a Reply

