Skip to content

Sewing Longies- No Knitting Required!

February 13, 2008

I was asked if I had some instructions on making the longies I pictured in an earlier post. I found lots of great sites when I was making mine. Since I don’t know how to knit, I had to use wool sweaters. There are instructions on several sites….this site has nice, clear directions. You can also look here. She used the neckband to form the waist of the pants. I haven’t tried doing it that way. They are so easy to make, but I have learned a couple things along the way. Bigger sweaters are the best, unless you are making them for a newborn, in which case it doesn’t matter. Especially if you will be felting them, as that shrinks them and they will end up even smaller. Also, you will need a surprisingly large rise (the part from the waist to the crotch seam) to cover those big, cloth bottoms, so make sure you cut accordingly. They first few I made had long legs with no room up top to accommodate the diaper! Oh well! I use 1 inch elastic in the waistband of mine. I sewed a casing and popped it in. I know some people use drawstrings and some just use the stretch of the sweater. Experiment and find what works for you.

After you make those cute longies, you’ll find yourself with the body (or many bodies) of a sweater! I guess you could make many, many sweater vests! Or…..you can make slippers….or soakers (here too)…..or a blanket…..or a hat. Use your imagination. I’ve seen mittens, stuffed animals, all sorts of things. Have fun! I would love to see pics if you make things. I’m not cool enough to know how to set up a flickr group, but I would love to take a look at your blog if post there. Once you start repurposing clothing, you won’t be able to stop! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

