Skip to content

Mandy’s Delicious Spaghetti Sauce

January 25, 2008
tags:

We’ll start it off with something simple that everyone likes- spaghetti. Of course everyone has a recipe for spaghetti sauce (even if it starts with R and rhymes with “tagu”), but this one is the best. Seriously though, I have a strange compulsion to try out spaghetti sauce recipes and I have yet to find one that is as yummy as this one. It is a sweet sauce, so you might want to reduce the sugar if that isn’t your cup of tea. Unfortunately, I love all things sugar. It comes from my dear friend Amanda, who just gave birth a couple months ago to an adorable baby girl. Being that we have 3 boys, girls are a bit of a novelty here.  Anyway, here is the recipe. Just don’t do what I did once and accidentally substitute salt for the sugar when you’re making a triple batch! Yuck!

1/2 c. chopped onion

1 lb. ground beef

3 small cans tomato sauce (8 oz. each)

1 can tomato paste

enough water to make it as thin or thick as you like

4 tsp dried basil (of course, use fresh if you have it)

4 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

2 1/2 Tbsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. Cayenne pepper

salt to taste

3 bay leaves

1 tsp garlic powder (I use freash garlic, instead)

1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1 tsp. rosemary (I don’t like the pine needly feel of rosemary so I usually grind it up in my coffee grinder)

Brown ground beef and onion. Add all the rest of the ingredients. Simmer for an hour or so. You can cook it longer or shorter or use you slow cooker. Like most spaghetti sauces, it’s pretty forgiving. Serve on top of spaghetti noodles with lots of freshly grated Parmesan cheese and hot, buttery garlic bread on the side.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2008 6:40 pm

    Hi, I blog hopped from CFhusband and i’f you don’t mind I’d like to steal this recipe. I’ll link it back to you. 🙂
    It sounds great. There are not many spaghetti sauces I like and they have to be sweet.
    Thank, Lisa

  2. Amora permalink
    April 18, 2009 4:59 pm

    Thank you for posting this recipe. It’s delicious and easy to make. I made it
    with soy crumbles since I don’t eat meat. I also added white wine and mushrooms to it. It was a succes!
    Thanks again 😀

Leave a Reply

