Skip to content

Christmas Sewing

December 15, 2008

I’m feeling quite accomplished with all the sewing I’ve completed lately. Most of it is not very fancy, but it’s still a good feeling to get things done. Once again, I only have crummy photos. In order to be sneaky and not let the kid’s see their presents, I had to take them at night.

I used this Amy Butler pattern to make a tree skirt. I made this a bit smaller than the pattern, in an effort to save fabric/money. I didn’t feel like usingĀ 7.5 yards of fabric!
Photobucket

Christmas PJ’s for the boys…..and flax filled bears…J has been begging for one ever since I made them for the craft fair. I used the “lay a pair of pants down” method for the pj’s. I’m kind of thinking that JJ’s pair has way too long of rise. I guess I will find out on Christmas. The bears are my own pattern….an online friend gave me the idea. They are so cute!
Photobucket
Photobucket

Corduroy pants for Happy Baby…..I used Butterick 6030. I added the back pockets and made the front fake pockets into real ones. I did a lot of topstitching on these (at least a lot for me) and I’m pretty happy with how they turned out. I think they are a little puffy through the hips, though, so I might try to fix that next time around.
Todder Boy Pants
Todder Boy Pants
Todder Boy Pants

A skirt for me….I finished this up right before Thanksgiving and was going to wear it, but them I wimped out. I’m really hesitant to wear things I’ve made. I know it’s silly and I shouldn’t be so self conscious. I guess I’ve always been that way about things I’ve made. In college, I hated writing because you would have to have someone read what you wrote. What if they hated it! Hmmm….I really should be over it by now! Really, though, I love this skirt and have since worn it several times.
Photobucket

This top was oringally a dress I made. But I didn’t love the way it fit. I was trying to squeeze it out of a one yard peice I won from Sew Mama Sew and the bottom just didn’t drape properly because of that. So I unpicked the border, hacked off the bottom, sewed the border back on and voila, a shirt. It’s still a little poofy, “are you pregnant” looking in the front, but not nearly so bad as it was! Other than that, I really like it and plan to make more with a little tweaking.
Photobucket

Now, hopefully I can finish J and JJ’s quilts! The tops are all done. I justĀ (just?!) need to piece together JJ’s backing, then quilt and bind both of them.

Also, orders placed by 12/17 will get to you by Christmas. Actually I would guess that orders placed as late as 12/19 would get there, but I couldn’t guarentee it. I have lots of things in my Etsy shop, plus some things here also. 10% off all orders over $50 and free shipping on all women’s skirts. Plus a free surprise with all orders over $25!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2008 12:38 pm

    Wow…wow :) Busy Mama!

  2. December 15, 2008 12:49 pm

    Well done! On my list is a tree skirt, too. You know the saying, the cobbler’s son has no shoes? I’ve given the ones I’ve made away as gifts! I usually grab some sparkly Christmas fabric yardage from the stash and tuck it around the base. Years and generations from now it will be be said, “Here’s Grandma’s tree skirt!” Hopefully lovingly not “didn’t she sew?

  3. December 15, 2008 2:29 pm

    Wow, you’ve really accomplished a lot! Everything looks beautiful and well made. No need to worry about that.

  4. December 15, 2008 5:27 pm

    Good job on all the sewing. I wish I could find time to get a little more done….

  5. December 17, 2008 10:47 am

    I love everything! Especially the little man cords, the tree skirt and the mom skirt! ;)

  6. December 31, 2008 5:12 pm

    I LOVE the little boys pants–they are so cute and very cool looking. Have you made many things for boys? You deffinately have the knack!! Well done!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

