Skip to content

Etsy Feature: Handmade Items by Reine

November 21, 2008
tags: ,

My feature today is Handmade Items by Reine. She can knit, which always impresses me since I can’t! It looks like she makes come cool and original stuff! I love the knit bibs.

 Tell us a bit about who you are & where you are based out of.
How long have you been crafting?
I’ve been making things of differing levels of use for as long as I can remember. I remember painting my parents car when I was five. I was tempted to let my 2 year old paint mine with crayon the other day. It’s never too early.
Who or what inspires you?
Life in general, practical needs, my daughter, art I see, nature, urban landscapes, artists I admire, love and I’m sure many other things.
What is one of your favorite things you’ve ever made?

I made myself a cotton bedspread this summer out of Suss hand-spun cotton using a log cabin basis for the structure. I sleep under it every night and I love it. Even as I was making it the weight of it felt perfect. I am tempted to get more of the yarn and make it bigger next summer.
How did you come up with your shop name? I used my name. I think my parents did a good job giving me a somewhat usual name. Thanks Mom and Dad.


What is one funny/interesting thing you can tell us about yourself?

I have the alphabet tattooed down the side of my left leg.
What is one of your favorite items in your shop? I am particularly fond of the organic snakes. I love making them. The cotton is super soft and I enjoy picking out the colors for the finishing touches.
Anything else you want to say?

 I’m working on a new series of baby blankets, but would love to do custom blankets. I have a fantasy of going into someone’s home and getting a sense of their style and then making them a blanket to fit.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2008 1:11 pm

    I like your knitted bib. I’ll have to find a pattern like that. The colors are also nice.

  2. November 24, 2008 8:30 am

    She does beautiful work! I’m a crocheter who knits once-in-a-while, but nothing fancy. I admire people who can actually make clothes and things with yarn!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

